Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

„My affections and wishes have not changed, but one word from you will silence me forever. If, however, your feelings have changed, I will have to tell you: you have bewitched me, body and soul, and I love, I love, I love you. I never wish to be parted from you from this day on…”

This book was one of the best books I’ve read in my entire life. I honestly didn’t expect it to be this good and I was surprised to see how much I loved it. The best thing about this book, in my opinion, were the characters. They really showed us something about people’s vanity, pride and prejudices.

Elizabeth Bennet was definetly my second favourite character. She was outgoing, headstrong and independent. I enjoyed seeing what she was thinking during this important part of her life. Also, I loved that she didn’t want to get married just for money and a better social position. She refused Mr. Collins (which I am very happy about) and even Mr. Darcy once.. which leads me to my favourite character, Mr. Darcy He was so complicated and interesting and everytime he was mentioned I tried to figure his personality out the best I could. I loved his relationship with Lizzie because he tried to hide his feelings for her almost the entire book. When he first told Lizzie about what he felt he definetly didn’t do it right. But then.. the second time. He spoke so beautifully that I almost started crying of happiness and, in the end, seeing them togheter I knew this was one of the best relationships I’ve ever read about.

Jane Bennet and Mr.Bingley. I also loved them! Mr. Bingley’s attentions to Jane were so nice and I was sure they were going to end up togheter. When Mr. Darcy and Mr.Bingley’s sisters ruined their relationship I was so angry but fortunately they found their way back to each other.

Mr. Wickman, Lady Catherine and Mr. Bingely’s sister. God, don’t even get me started on them. They had so much pride!! I hated them so much I can’t even handle it. Well, they were „good” bad characters, I’ll give them that. About annoying characters.. Mrs. Bennet was annoying too. How can a woman be so stupid? At least she made some parts of the book very funny because of her stupidness :))

In the end, I loved this book and I surely am going to buy more of Jane Austen’s work.

 

 

4 comentarii

Lasă un răspuns

