The Wrath and The Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

Hello!

Today I am reviewing my favourite book besides the A Court of Thorns and Roses series which is „The Wrath and The Dawn” by Renee Ahdieh. This review will be spoiler-free but at the end I will have a little discussion about the ending because I need to talk to someone about it!

 

DSC_0384

Title: „The Wrath and The Dawn” by Renee Ahdieh

Series: „The Wrath and The Dawn”

Genre: YA, Historical Fiction, Romance, Mystery (keep in mind that this is just my opinion on what genre it is)

Publisher: Published May 12th 2015 by G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers

Pages: 388 (Paperback)

Check it out:  https://www.goodreads.com/series/138035-the-wrath-and-the-dawn (I don’t know why I can’t link it to a text)

Buy it: https://www.bookdepository.com/Wrath-Dawn-Renee-Ahdieh/9780399171611 // https://www.amazon.com/Wrath-Dawn-Ren%C3%A9e-Ahdieh/dp/0399171614

ale2

5/5 stars for sure! It was just spectacular!

ale One Life to One Dawn.

In a land ruled by a murderous boy-king, each dawn brings heartache to a new family. Khalid, the eighteen-year-old Caliph of Khorasan, is a monster. Each night he takes a new bride only to have a silk cord wrapped around her throat come morning. When sixteen-year-old Shahrzad’s dearest friend falls victim to Khalid, Shahrzad vows vengeance and volunteers to be his next bride. Shahrzad is determined not only to stay alive, but to end the caliph’s reign of terror once and for all.

Night after night, Shahrzad beguiles Khalid, weaving stories that enchant, ensuring her survival, though she knows each dawn could be her last. But something she never expected begins to happen: Khalid is nothing like what she’d imagined him to be. This monster is a boy with a tormented heart. Incredibly, Shahrzad finds herself falling in love. How is this possible? It’s an unforgivable betrayal. Still, Shahrzad has come to understand all is not as it seems in this palace of marble and stone. She resolves to uncover whatever secrets lurk and, despite her love, be ready to take Khalid’s life as retribution for the many lives he’s stolen. Can their love survive this world of stories and secrets?

Inspired by A Thousand and One Nights, The Wrath and the Dawn is a sumptuous and enthralling read from beginning to end.

What did I like?

First of all, I loved how rich the description of everything was. From the cloth that Shazi wore to the smell and appearance of the food, Renee did an amazing job making us feel like we were in the book. Also, the writing was so magical and beautiful! It’s what gives this book an enchanted vibe and it drives you in right from the first chapter. As always, here are some quotes so you can get an idea and see if this is your cup of tea.

“You have a beautiful laugh. Like the promise of tomorrow.”

“This dangerous girl. This captivating beauty.
This destroyer of worlds and creator of wonder.”

“She was a dangerous, dangerous girl. A plague. A Mountain of Adamant who tore the iron from ships, sinking them to their watery graves without a second thought. With a mere smile and a wrinkle of her nose.”   

“And he smiled a smile to shame the sun.” 

“People fall in and out of love with the rising and setting of the sun. Rather like a boy who loves the color green one day, only to discover on the morrow that he truly prefers blue.”  

“It’s inevitable. When you meet the one who makes you smile as you’ve never smiled before, cry as you’ve never cried before… there is nothing to do but fall.”   

Those are all of the quotes that don’t contain spoilers. Have I convinced you to buy this book already? If not, keep on reading.

The characters. Shahrzad is such an amazing character. At first, Khalid sees just a really small girl with a pointed chin but, as you may know, „she be little but fierce”. She’s strong willed, badass, sassy and powerful but as you progress in the story you start to see her other side and it’s just fantastic. Also, no spoilers you guys but Khalid, the Caliph of Khorasan, King of Kings, is the bae.

The love. It’s so funny seeing Shazi trying to hate him (which she does, in the beginning) as much as she can and then seeing what actually happens (no spoilers!).

The plot. This book has the biggest plot twist. When I read that paragraph, my jaw dropped and tears were running down my face, hands shaking. Do I need to tell you more?

The feels. I have never in my life cried this much for a book. When I finished it, I cried for 2 hours straight. I reread the last page of the book and cried some more. If I reread it now, I’ll cry.

I don’t even know what to say anymore since I loved everything about this book. Now, please go buy it, borrow it from a friend, the library, listen to it on Audible, on youtube, I don’t care. Just read it, okay?

SPOILERS! SPOILERS! SPOILEEEEEEEEEEERS!

“Shahrzad,

I’ve failed you several times. But there was one moment I failed you beyond measure. It was the day we met. The moment I took your hand and you looked at me, with the glory of hate in your eyes. I should have sent you home to your family. But I didn’t. There was honesty in your hatred.Fearlessness in your pain.In your honesty, I saw a reflection of myself.Or rather, of the man I longed to be. So I failed you. I didn’t stay away.Then later, I thought if I had answers, it would be enough. I would no longer care. You would not matter. So I continued failing you. Continued wanting more. And now I can’t find the words to say what must be said. To convey to you the least of what I owe. When I think of you, I can’t find the air to breathe. And now, though you are gone, there is no pain or fear. All I am left with is gratitude.
When I was a boy, my mother would tell me that one of the best things in life is the knowledge that your story isn’t over yet. Our story may have come to a close, but your story is still yet to be told. Make it a story worthy of you.
I failed you in one last thing. Here is my chance to rectify it. It was never because I didn’t feel it. It was because I swore I would never say it, and a man is nothing if he can’t keep his promises.
So I write it in the sky-
I love you, a thousand times over. And I will never apologize for it.
Khalid”  

NO. GUYS. NO. How can Renee do this?!?! I never expected this ending. I bought the second book and I am so excited to read it but I am honestly scared to do so. I spoke to a bookstagram friend, Lex (@prythianfae) and she said TRATD is a rollercoaster of emotions and it gave her more feels than TWATD. Comment down bellow and tell me to read. I need a push.

Love,

Alexandra.

 

 

 

 

 

4 comentarii

Lasă un răspuns

