Chatting with a Slytherin {Chocolate Book Tag}

Hello and welcome to Chatting with a Slytherin: #TagTuesday edition! Today I am coming to you with the Chocolate Book Tag created by A Daydreamer’s Ramblings on youtube a few years ago. Grab some chocolate, a drink and enjoy!

Question 1: Dark Chocolate- a book that covers a dark topic (abuse, rape, bullying, death)

I don’t think I have read many books that deal with dark topics but for this one I am going with the most underhyped book I know which is Breaking Butterflies by M. Anjelais. This deals with some very very very dark topics so be aware of that if you wish to read it. I really enjoyed this book though and I did cry.

18523137

ale

The closest he will ever come to happiness is when he’s hurting her. Will she let him? A beautiful and twisted story of first love and innocence lost–written when the author was just eighteen.

Sphinxie and Cadence. Promised to each other in childhood. Drawn together again as teens. Sphinxie is sweet, compassionate, and plain. Cadence is brilliant, charismatic. Damaged. And diseased. When they were kids, he scarred her with a knife. Now, as his illness progresses, he becomes increasingly demanding. She wants to be loyal–but fears for her life. Only the ultimate sacrifice will give this love an ending.

Question 2: White Chocolate- your favourite light-hearted/humourous read

I have 3 shelves full of contemporaries so this was definetly a hard choice for me. In the end, I settled with To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han. I loved this duology a lot. It’s a really light-hearted read that could get you out of any reading slump. Did you know that Jenny decided to write a third book? It’s called Always and Forever Lara Jean and it will be out next spring, 04.04.2017 I think.

15749186

aleTo All the Boys I’ve Loved Before is the story of Lara Jean, who has never openly admitted her crushes, but instead wrote each boy a letter about how she felt, sealed it, and hid it in a box under her bed. But one day Lara Jean discovers that somehow her secret box of letters has been mailed, causing all her crushes from her past to confront her about the letters: her first kiss, the boy from summer camp, even her sister’s ex-boyfriend, Josh. As she learns to deal with her past loves face to face, Lara Jean discovers that something good may come out of these letters after all.

 

Question 3: Milk Chocolate- a book that has a lot of hype and you’re dying to read

I know you’re all going to be mad at me for not reading this sooner. It’s Slammed by Colleen Hoover. I have never read a CoHo book and I saw this at my local bookstore back in April so I picked it up. It’s the last day of July and I still have not read this.

13372690

 

aleFollowing the unexpected death of her father, 18-year-old Layken is forced to be the rock for both her mother and younger brother. Outwardly, she appears resilient and tenacious, but inwardly, she’s losing hope.

Enter Will Cooper: The attractive, 21-year-old new neighbor with an intriguing passion for slam poetry and a unique sense of humor. Within days of their introduction, Will and Layken form an intense emotional connection, leaving Layken with a renewed sense of hope.

Not long after an intense, heart-stopping first date, they are slammed to the core when a shocking revelation forces their new relationship to a sudden halt. Daily interactions become impossibly painful as they struggle to find a balance between the feelings that pull them together, and the secret that keeps them apart.

Question 4: Chocolate with a caramel centre- name a book that made you feel all gooey in the middle while you were reading it

This is the book that immediately came to my mind when I thought of something that made me feel that way inside. It’s The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Jenny Han. Tana and Gavriel are just OTP. Just read this quotes:

“You are more dangerous than daybreak.”

“Allow me to explain how my whole life has prepared me for this moment. I am used to girls screaming, and your screams – will be sweeter than another’s cries of love.”

“I promise I will repay you.”
“Oh yeah?” she asked, looking at him, with his bare feet and plain, dark clothes. “With what?”
The smile stayed on his lips. “Jewels, lies, slips of paper, dried flowers, memories of things long past, useless quotations, idle hands, beads, buttons, and mischief.”

12813630

ale

Tana lives in a world where walled cities called Coldtowns exist. In them, quarantined monsters and humans mingle in a decadently bloody mix of predator and prey. The only problem is, once you pass through Coldtown’s gates, you can never leave.

One morning, after a perfectly ordinary party, Tana wakes up surrounded by corpses. The only other survivors of this massacre are her exasperatingly endearing ex-boyfriend, infected and on the edge, and a mysterious boy burdened with a terrible secret. Shaken and determined, Tana enters a race against the clock to save the three of them the only way she knows how: by going straight to the wicked, opulent heart of Coldtown itself.

Question 5: Wafer-free Kit Kat- name a book that surprised you lately

I didn’t expect to hate this book because it sounded like something I would enjoy but I didn’t expect to love it this much. Now it’s one of my favourite books of all time. Have you guessed it? Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon.

18692431

aleMy disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

Question 6: Snickers- a book that you are going nuts about

Now, if you have been following my bookstagram, you would probably know my two answers for this. The Wrath and The Dawn by Renee Ahdieh and A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas.  I won’t leave you summaries for these ones because I suggest going in them blindly, especially in TWATD. All you need to know is that TWATD is based on A Thousand And One Nights and A Court of Thorns and Roses, the first book in the ACOTAR series, is a loose retelling of Beauty and The Beast.

18798983

 

17927395

Question 7: Hot chocolate with cream and marshmallows-  what book would you turn to for a comfort read?

I have many options for this answer such as The Infernal Devices trilogy, The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks, The Perks of Being a Wallflower etc. but my best answer for this is any Rick Riordan book, especially Percy Jackson. This is one of the series that started my love for reading. Sadly I borrowed all the books from my best friend and I don’t own them but I don’t really want to pay full price to get them so I’ll look for them in London Charity Shops or I’ll ask for them as a gift sometime.

28187

alePercy Jackson is a good kid, but he can’t seem to focus on his schoolwork or control his temper. And lately, being away at boarding school is only getting worse—Percy could have sworn his pre-algebra teacher turned into a monster and tried to kill him. When Percy’s mom finds out, she knows it’s time that he knew the truth about where he came from, and that he go to the one place he’ll be safe. She sends Percy to Camp Half Blood, a summer camp for demigods (on Long Island), where he learns that the father he never knew is Poseidon, God of the Sea. Soon a mystery unfolds and together with his friends—one a satyr and the other the demigod daughter of Athena—Percy sets out on a quest across the United States to reach the gates of the Underworld (located in a recording studio in Hollywood) and prevent a catastrophic war between the gods.

Question 8: Box of chocolates – what series have you read that you feel has a wide variety and a little something for everyone?

7736182

I would probably say the Harry Potter series but I have not read it. I have seen the movies twice so I know all of the plot and such but if this doesn’t count then I’ll go with the Heroes of Olympus series by Rick Riordan. It’s the spin off series for Percy Jackson and it follows Percy when he is 16. It still has the same good old Rick humor, amazing friendships, it also follows family, it is a fun and happy book but it has sad parts too and it has a bit of romance too. I can’t give you the summary since it’s a spin off series.

 

 

 

 

I really hope you enjoyed this post! I am going to tag some people bellow but you are free to do it as well! You can tell that I tagged you!

People I tag:

Nerys from readorablebooks here on wordpress and booksgraphy on instagram

Nikki from talesofabiblio

Em from fortheloveofmycozycorner here on wordpress and forthelove_ofbooks on instagram

Christine from weereader

Georgia from booksandothermiracles

Elise and Ella from eliseandellaslibrary

Alice from aliceinwonderbookland

Anj from seaweedbooks

Talk to you soon!

Alexandra

*all book cover pictures and summaries are from Goodreads

 

3 comentarii

  1. I have most of these books on my TBR! Especially Slammed, I’m eager to read it soon. Haha. And oh, Breaking Butterflies sounds a little bit disturbing but very intriguing, will definitely check it out 🙂

    http:// laxsourire.blogspot.my

    Apreciază

Lasă un răspuns

