Book Review: Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

I am finally reading the Harry Potter series! Yes, a bit late, but better late then never am I right? Here’s my review of the first book which I obviously loved.

22841994 Title: Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy, Fiction

Publisher: Bloomsbury, September 1st 2014 edition

Read: August 3rd – August 12th (2016)

Goodreads: here

Buy it: Book Depository / Amazon

Rating: Star FullStar FullStar FullStar FullStar Full

Synopsis: When a letter arrives for unhappy but ordinary Harry Potter, a decade-old secret is revealed to him that apparently he’s the last to know. His parents were wizards, killed by a Dark Lord’s curse when Harry was just a baby, and which he somehow survived. Leaving his unsympathetic aunt and uncle for Hogwarts, a wizarding school brimming with ghosts and enchantments, Harry stumbles upon a sinister mystery when he finds a three-headed dog guarding a room on the third floor. Then he hears of a missing stone with astonishing powers which could be valuable, dangerous – or both. An incredible adventure is about to begin! (cover picture and synopsis are from Goodreads)

A few thinks that made me put this book on my top of 2016

The Writing: The Writing was absolutely beautiful. I never really enjoy long chapters but the ones in this book changed my opinion. Rowling’s style kept me wanting more and more though I tried to take my time with this amazing book because I will never be able to read it for the first time. As I always do, here are some of my favorite quotes/parts:

“It does not do to dwell on dreams and forget to live.”

“The truth.” Dumbledore sighed. „It is a beautiful and terrible thing, and should therefore be treated with great caution.”

“There are some things you can’t share without ending up liking each other, and knocking out a twelve-foot mountain troll is one of them.”

“I hope you’re pleased with yourselves. We could all have been killed – or worse, expelled. Now if you don’t mind, I’m going to bed.”   

“There is no good and evil, there is only power and those too weak to seek it.”   

“Enter, stranger, but take heed
Of what awaits the sin of greed,
For those who take, but do not earn,
Must pay most dearly in their turn.
So if you seek beneath our floors
A treasure that was never yours,
Thief, you have been warned, beware
Of finding more than treasure there.”

“Oh, HONESTLY, don’t you two read?”  

„One can never have enough socks,” said Dumbledore. „Another Christmas has come and gone and I didn’t get a single pair. People will insist on giving me books.”

„Or perhaps in Slytherin/ You’ll make your real friends/ Those cunning folk use any means/ To achieve their ends” (I am a Slytherin!)

SIDE NOTE: I saw a review of this book on Goodreads written by VOLDEMORT! I can’t! He gave one star to the book and said „This is a disgrace to all pure bloods. My head looked quite dashing on that strange professor’s head.. If only I could have extended my stay. Harry Potter.. This is not over yet.”

The characters: I really liked all of the characters: Harry, Ron and Hermonie were of course my favorites because of how different they were from each other but, in a way, they were the same. Also, I do have to admit Draco is a great villain/ a pain in You-Know-What but he is from my house so I won’t say a thing. My favorite professors were Dumbledore, Snape and McGonogall.

The plot: Even though I saw the movies twice before I forgot some important events in the book that I didn’t see coming and the books describe so much more than the movies! Overall, I think Rowling did a great job with the plot and making sure we would never get bored.

The atmosphere: This book is simply magical and I love getting lost between these pages.

Everyone and their mother has read this book so I’ll stop here with my review.  I hope you like seeing my opinion about everything and if you still haven’t picked up this book, just do it. I know you can. Stay tuned for my thoughts on the next books over the next few months!

Love,

Alexandra

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 comentarii

Lasă un răspuns

