Review: Mosquitoland by David Arnold

Mosquitoland by David Arnold is one of the best books I’ve ever read. A must read for everyone. And here’s my review:

18718848

Title: Mosquitoland

Author: David Arnold

My rating: Star FullStar FullStar FullStar FullStar Full (5/5)
Synopsis (from goodreads):

 After the sudden collapse of her family, Mim Malone is dragged from her home in northern Ohio to the „wastelands” of Mississippi, where she lives in a medicated milieu with her dad and new stepmom. Before the dust has a chance to settle, she learns her mother is sick back in Cleveland.

So she ditches her new life and hops aboard a northbound Greyhound bus to her real home and her real mother, meeting a quirky cast of fellow travelers along the way. But when her thousand-mile journey takes a few turns she could never see coming, Mim must confront her own demons, redefining her notions of love, loyalty, and what it means to be sane.

Told in an unforgettable, kaleidoscopic voice, „Mosquitoland” is a modern American odyssey, as hilarious as it is heartbreaking.

„I am a collection of oddities, a circus of neurons and electrons: my heart is the ringmaster, my soul is the trapeze artist, and the world is my audience. It sounds strange because it is, and it is, because I am strange.”

If you want to read an amazing book, just pick up Mosquitoland. I’m serious.  I haven’t been this in love with a book since ACOMAF, The Wrath and The Dawn or Everything Everything.

  • Plot

This is a cute contemporary about a road trip combined with a coming of age story AND some serious issues both physic and mental. It has everything a book needs: humor, sadness, happiness, cuteness, bravery and beautiful quotes. It doesn’t have plot twists at every turn but it has two plot twists that I didn’t see coming at all.

  • Characters

Mary Iris Malone (MIM) is the protagonist of this novel. She suffers from a lot of things, one that nobody knows about (not even her parents), she’s quirky, funny and beautiful. Not physical beauty, but overall beauty. In my opinion, Mim is flawed and relatable and that makes her beautiful.  She shows us that not every single book needs a badass heroine. She is an INSPIRATION.

Beck is the kind-of-love-interest. This book doesn’t focus on the romance, nor it has a lot of romance but there are small parts here and there at the end of the book. He is Mim’s friend who helps her with her dreams, fears and destination. He does change her, but not the cliché way. He shows her that good people still exist and I appreciate him for doing so.

Walt is a lovely character. You need to read the book to find out more about him. I’ll just tell you this: Mim, Beck and Walt make a trio you won’t forget.

  • Quotes

Here are some of my favourite quotes/parts that don’t contain spoilers:

“Every great character, Iz, be it on page or screen, is multidimensional. The good guys aren’t all good, the bad guys aren’t all bad, and any character wholly one or the other shouldn’t exist at all. Remember this when I describe the antics that follow, for though I am not a villain, I am not immune to villainy.”   

“As simple as it sounds, I think understanding who you are—and who you are not—is not the most important thing of all Important Things.”

“Life can be a real son of a bitch sometimes, bringing things back around long after you’ve said good-bye.”   

“So I float in silence, watching the final touches of this perfect moonrise, and in a moment of heavenly revelation, it occurs to me that detours are not without purpose. They provide safe passage to a destination, avoiding pitfalls in the process.”  

“And even though things are heavy right now, it occurs to me how happy I am just to be with my friends. Sure, I’d love to kiss-hug-marry-hold Beck, but for now, I’m happy just to be with him. Sometimes being with gets overlooked I think.”   

“I see a million miles of life, a million lives in one, a million headaches, heartaches, brainaches, a million ingredients in her eyes”   

David Arnold has a way with words. His quotes will hit you hard. Trust me, you’ll learn a lot from this book.

As I said in the beginning, this is a must-read for everyone. Until you’ve finished it, you wouldn’t have realized you needed it.

Love,

Alexandra

P.S. David Arnold, if you see this, know you’re the best author ever. I bought Kids of Appetite right away and I cannot wait for your new book in 2018! It’s so far away!

 

 

2 comentarii

  1. Pingback: Reviews

Lasă un răspuns

