Book Review: Our Demons, Best Friends

Hello everyone!

Diana T. Scott, the author of Our Demons, Best Friend, sent me her book to review in the summer, August. I was really busy and got to read it in October or November of 2016 and it was so much better than I expected it to be. I’m here today finally posting my review because I redid it 3 times since I wasn’t happy with my reviewing style. It’s fine now, I’m back with some great reviews for you all.

Let’s talk a bit about the book, shall we?

25526216

 

Title: Our Demons, Best Friends

Author: Diana T. Scott

Part of: Half of Me series

Number of pages: 326

Published by: Diana T. Scott (that’s right, she’s self published and deserves our love for how much effort she put into this!)

Rating: 4/5 stars

 

Synopsis from Goodreads (and cover picture)

If the perfect world existed, Ava and Sebastian would be in it, in love. But in this world, they are both closely watched by their demons. Their baggage is not light: Ava has hers carefully folded in vacuum bags to occupy as little room as possible; Sebastian wears his like a lead armor that makes him slouch sometimes. They like each other, but how are their demons going to get along?
Ava spent half her life being a twin. Ever since her sister died, she has tried to live for the both of them and rarely allows herself to feel the pain that is still very much present. Although Sebastian is a few years older, his medical residency got postponed because of his own tragedy. Now all he does is take life one day at a time, never wondering if there might be something more for him out there. Until Ava comes along and shows him how, against all logic, the pain can make them whole again.

First things first, I loved the fact that this really showed how hard life is and didn’t sugar coat it. Ava, the main character, is a medical resident and sometimes needs to spend days at the hospital working. This book showed it all and was so well researched! I learned so much about this topic from it without even realizing it.

I couldn’t put this book down. It was very gripping, fast paced and utterly fascinating. I read this very quickly and still I got very attached to the characters. I said this in my Goodreads review and I will say it again. Sebastian is Darcy in a contemporary, I swear. They are so alike and I loved that so much since Darcy is one of my favourite book boyfriends. Ava is a good main character because she is just a normal relatable girl. The only thing I didn’t like about her and annoyed me was the fact she sometimes changed her mind waaay too fast. The other characters in this novel, Ava and Sebastian’s friends, are also very loveable and funny characters.

Friendship and family were not shadowed by romance. Even though this book was heavily influenced by the romance, it didn’t lack on the friendship and family department. I loved the fact Ava always talked about her having meals with her friends and talking and helping each other. I loved the fact she had best friends who she didn’t forget once Sebastian showed up.

It dealt with serious topics well. Ava and Sebastian both had a terrible past and this book didn’t suffer from the usual trope, boy meets broken girl and heals her. They both helped each other through everything and learned to accept who they are.

I want to show you some quotes:

“I knew tomorrow would be another battle, one that a few days back I wouldn’t have even considered, but in that moment it was all I wanted to do. To be there, fighting. For you”   

“He was really trying to be my friend, without all the emotional baggage we both carried – mine still with me, but carefully folded in vacuum bags so they’d occupy as little room as possible and his, hangin on his shoulders like lead armor, making him slouch sometimes. And yet, as pinned down as he was, he was the one comforting me, supporting not only his weight but mine, too. It wasn’t fair.”   

“So maybe, for me, home is not the city, but the people.” 

 

Alexandra  

 

2 comentarii

  1. Pingback: Reviews

Lasă un răspuns

